Skip to Main Content               

FHS-PK | EndNote 21: A Step-by-Step Guide: Adding References

EndNote is a reference management tool designed to help researchers organize, manage, and cite their references efficiently.

Adding References Manually to EndNote 21

Adding new references to your EndNote library manually is straightforward process. By following these steps, you can enter detailed information for various types of sources, ensuring your citations are accurate and complete.

Following are the steps to create a new reference manually:

  1. Click on "References" in the Menu Bar: Open EndNote 21 and go to the "References" option in the menu bar at the top of the screen.

  2. Select "New Reference": From the dropdown menu, click on "New Reference." A new window will open for you to enter the details of your reference.

  3. Choose the Reference Type: At the top of the new reference window, select the appropriate reference type from the dropdown menu, such as "Journal Article," "Book," "Edited Book," etc.

  4. Enter Author(s): Input the author's name(s), with each author listed on a separate line. For corporate authors, such as "World Health Organization," remember to add a comma after the name (e.g., "World Health Organization,").

  5. Add Additional Information: Fill in all other available details, such as:

    • Title and Subtitle
    • Journal Name (for journal articles)
    • Year of Publication
    • Volume and Issue Numbers
    • Page Numbers
    • DOI (Digital Object Identifier)

  6. Save the Reference: After entering all the relevant information, close the window, and EndNote will automatically save the new reference to your library.

This process ensures that your references are accurately entered and ready to be cited in your work.

Searching Databases Using the EndNote 21 Interface

EndNote 21 allows you to search online databases directly within its interface, making it easy to find and save references to your library. Follow these steps to search for articles and add them to your EndNote library:

Steps to Search Databases and Save Articles

  1. Select the Database: Open EndNote 21 and choose the database you want to search from the available options within the EndNote interface.

  2. Enter Search Information: Input the required search terms or criteria in the appropriate fields, such as keywords, author names, or publication year.

  3. Click on "Search": After entering your search terms, click the "Search" button to begin querying the selected database.

  4. Review the Search Results: Browse through the list of articles that match your search criteria.

  5. Select the Desired Article: Identify the article you wish to save to your library.

  6. Click the "+" Sign: Click on the "+" sign or equivalent option to save the selected article directly to your EndNote library.

By following these steps, you can efficiently search for and add relevant articles to your EndNote library, ensuring you have all the necessary references at your fingertips.

Importing References from Databases into EndNote 21

You can import references from various databases into EndNote 21, streamlining your research process. Follow these steps to efficiently import references:

Steps to Import References

  1. Open the Database: Access the database where your required publications are located.

  2. Search for Publications: Use the database’s search function to find the publications you need.

  3. Select the Desired Publications: Choose the references you want to import.

  4. Click on “Send to,” “Export,” or “Cite”: The exact option may vary depending on the database you are using.

  5. Choose “Citation Manager” or “EndNote (RIS)”: Select “Citation Manager” or “EndNote (RIS)” as the export format. This ensures compatibility with EndNote.

  6. Ensure EndNote is Open: Make sure EndNote 21 is open on your computer before importing.

  7. Complete the Import: Follow any additional prompts to finalize the import process. The selected references will be added to your EndNote library.

By following these steps, you can easily integrate references from various databases into your EndNote library, facilitating efficient citation management.

 

 

 

Subjects: Research