Welcome to how to find research and study materials online in the GSMC Library.
Where to Search
Usually, you may start from a general research space.
The Search Strategy
Compare the two searches below
|Google Scholar Search
Maximising ScholarGoogle Searches
Items not readily accessible in full text on ScholarGoogle
While ScholarGoogle may guide one to rich resources, it may however not be a comprehensive "one-stop shop" and one may not get full access to all information items they may wish.
To Search Library Subscribed Databases
Access the GSMC Homepage - https://www.aku.edu/gsmc/pages/home.aspx
Scroll down and select your chosen library (GSMC Library)
Scroll down to your preferred database/s
Accessing the Online Resources when away from campus (Virtual Private Network – VPN)
You can access library databases and e-resources when away from the campus via https://vpn.ke.aku.edu
Log in with your AKU username and password [nbi\augustine.gitonga] [pw: **********]
Once you log in, on this page select as highlighted: GSMC Library
Note the list of databases and select any one of your interest to search in.
List of preferred journal (GSMC) databases
African Journals Online (AJOL): abstracts and full-text of African-published journals with document delivery
EBSCO Host Research Databases - Communication Source: very comprehensive communication research resource with e-books available (premium)
Emerald Management: peer-reviewed business and management journals
Edinburgh University Press - books and journals including in the humanities and social sciences.
E-duke journals scholarly collection - journals including in the humanities and social sciences.
Factiva: global news database including licensed publications, influential websites, blogs, images and videos not available on the free web (premium)
HeinOnline - comprehensive coverage of law and public management
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) - Subject Strengths: Telecommunications, Computer Science Information Systems, Artificial Intelligence among others
International Monetary Fund (IMF) - macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.
JSTOR (Journal store): access to full-text journal articles and scanned pages and back issues of scholarly journals
LexisNexis® Academic: access to billions of searchable legal, news and business documents and records
McGraw-Hill eBooks has over 3000 available titles
OECD iLibrary online (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
OpenEdition Journals -a bundle of 175 journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences, published by university presses and small academic publishers
PressReader: distributes digital versions of over 7,000 global newspapers (premium)
Project MUSE: comprehensive coverage of humanities and social science (premium)
Proquest Ebook Central (Ebrary) - e-book provider (premium)
Sage Research Methods - Over 550 journals in the business, humanities, social sciences and STM.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals: comprehensive coverage of humanities, social sciences and applied sciences (premium)
University of Chicago Press -Subject Strengths: Economics, Education, Humanities, Law
As much as possible, avoid ‘googling’ (using Google) and other general search engines or Wikipedia for scholarly research
How to Cite sources in your scholarly work
EBSCO Host Research Databases including Communication Source, the premier research database offering information for scholars studying mass media, communications theory, linguistics and organisational communication.
A global news database featuring nearly 33,000 sources, including licensed publications, influential websites, blogs, images and videos. Thousands of sources not available on the free web are available on Factiva on or before the date of publication by the source.
Online access to over 430 full-text journals and read whole e-books and e-book chapters online
Covers over 1300 titles in the humanities, social sciences and applied sciences.
Harvard Business Publishing: a blog that seeks to influence change in the business world by extending the reach of ideas, improving strategy, and promoting learning for business professionals and leaders. Topics range from communication and leadership to talent management and workplace culture, among others.
MIT Management Executive Education: a blog by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology intended to create better leaders and inspire them to advance management practices in the workplace. Topics range from improving leaders and leadership strategy, women in business, how to maintain a work-life balance, and business innovations.