Key Databases
 |
UpToDate includes more than 11,800 peer reviewed topics covering the whole spectrum of health. The topics are in “25 specialties, continually updated and reviewed by leading experts |
 |
Clinicalkey for physicians is a database that provides access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals and over 13,000 procedural videos. The content is supplied by Elsevier, one of the world's leading provider of science and health information. |
 |
AccessMedicine is a database that gives you access to more than 75 medical books from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools through a comprehensive search platform. |
 |
Oxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press (OUP). Oxford Academic offer an innovative, high-quality publishing service and pride ourselves on our close and transparent relationship with societies worldwide |
 |
Hinari is a programme set up by WHO together with major publishers. It enables low- and middle- income countries gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature. AKU Library is registered to access Hinari and this gives you access to up to 16,000 journals, up to 63,000 e-books, up to 105 other information resources. The database has been configured to recognize AKU/AKUH network but should you be prompted to log-in, please contact the library for the username and password details. |
 |
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Where the citation is from an open access journal, the database will provide a link to the full text. |
 |
Cochrane library well known for systematic reviews is a source of reliable and up-to-date information (regularly updated) on the effects of interventions in health care. This is currently available free of Charge to developing Countries. |
 |
The BMJ is an international peer reviewed medical journal, updated daily online and available in print every week. It publishes rigorous, accessible and entertaining material to help doctors and other decision makers in their daily practice, lifelong learning and career development. |
 |
Abstracts of over 250 African-published journals, with access to some full text online, and a document delivery service. Subject strengths: AJOL offers the tables of contents and abstracts from journals published in Africa in most disciplines. |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Faculty Liaison Librarian
+254711092039
