Skip to Main Content               

FHS-TZ | Family Medicine: Databases

Databases

 

Uptodate

UpToDate includes more than 11,800 peer reviewed topics covering the whole spectrum of health. The topics are in “25 specialties, continually updated and reviewed by leading experts

Clinicalkey

Clinicalkey for physicians is a database that provides access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals and over 13,000 procedural videos. The content is supplied by Elsevier, one of the world's leading provider of science and health information.

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine is a database that gives you access to more than 75 medical books from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools through a comprehensive search platform.

Hinari

Hinari is a programme set up by WHO together with major publishers. It enables low- and middle- income countries gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature. AKU Library is registered to access Hinari and this gives you access to up to 16,000 journals, up to 63,000 e-books, up to 105 other information resources.

The database has been configured to recognize AKU/AKUH network but should you be prompted to log-in, please contact the library for the username and password details.

OVID SP

Ovid

Ovid helps researchers, librarians, clinicians, and other healthcare professionals find important medical information so that they can make critical decisions to improve patient care, enhance ongoing research, and fuel new discoveries. Ovid delivers thousands of full-text journal articles, eBooks, database resources and workflow tools in a single integrated solution.

Cochrane Library

Cochrane library well known for systematic reviews is a source of reliable and up-to-date information (regularly updated) on the effects of interventions in health care. This is currently available free of Charge to developing Countries.

EBSCO Discovery Service logo

EBSCO Discovery Service

EBSCO Discovery Service provides users with an easy, yet powerful means of accessing all of an institution's information resources through a single search.EBSCO Discovery Service offers a vast array of customization options with regard to both the underlying collection of metadata as well as the front-end delivery of search results

EBSCOHost

Over 11,000 full text, peer-reviewed journals and over 15,000 abstracted and indexed titles. Access to 8 major databases: Academic Search Premier; Business Source Premier; ERIC; Masterfile Premier; Newspaper Source; Health Source : Nursing & Academic; Health Source : Consumer Edition; Medline. Subject Strengths: Good coverage of most branches of social sciences and humanities, Strong business coverage, Strong nursing, medicine and allied health coverage, Dedicated newspaper database, kept separate from peer-reviewed content.

Directory of Open Access Journals Improved

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent index contains almost 17 500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are accepted for indexing.

Logo Doab

DOAB

is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Taylor & Francis Group Logo

Taylor & Francis eBooks

Taylor & Francis eBooks is a single destination platform with eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science. It includes a librarian dashboard, which provides quick access to MARC and KBART reports, usage data, entitlements and much more. Researchers have a single point of discovery for eBook content, multiple search options, and more.

Wolters Kluwer Logo

Wolters Kluwer

Wolters Kluwer is a global provider of professional information, software solutions, and services for clinicians, accountants, lawyers, and tax, finance, audit, risk, compliance, and regulatory sectors. 

Scopus Logo

Scopus

Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.

SAGE online

SAGE publishes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology and Medicine. 46 journals are on Education and related subjects.

PROquest Ebook Central

Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. Ebook Central is designed with mobile in mind. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download ebooks for offline reading.

  Find more Databases in the library collection

Librarian

undefined

Jesse John

Contact Me 

Contact:

Librarian, Faculty of Health Sciences PGME Dar es salaam

Need Help - FHS Dar es salaam

   AKU – FHS Library, Dar es salaam

 fhslibrary.dar@aku.edu

   +255 22 2122740