Skip to main content               

FHS-KE | COVID-19 - Services During Pandemic: Online resources

Key Databses

 

Availability of online resources for Faculty, Students and Staff

There is a wide range of health specific electronic resources AKU Library has for you to access:

www.uptodate.com

UpToDate includes more than 11,800 peer reviewed topics covering the whole spectrum of health. The topics are in “25 specialties, continually updated and reviewed by leading experts

www.clinicalkey.com

Clinicalkey for physicians is a database that provides access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals and over 13,000 procedural videos. The content is supplied by Elsevier, one of the world's leading provider of science and health information.

www.accessmedicine.com

AccessMedicine is a database that gives you access to more than 75 medical books from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools through a comprehensive search platform.

https://webedition.sanfordguide.com/en

The Sanford Guide for infectious disease guidelines and information is designed for use at the point of care. Sanford Guide provides clinicians with the tools they need to ensure the appropriate use of antibiotics.

http://www.transfusionevidencelibrary.com/

The Transfusion Evidence Library is “an information resource that provides access to evidence-based publications (Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trial and Health Economic Evaluations) on all aspects of transfusion medicine, and expert Clinical Commentaries on selected studies.” It is produced by the NHS Blood and Transplant Systematic Review Initiative

www.clinicalkey.com/nursing

ClinicalKey Nursing database gives you access to about 100 top books, about 75 top journals. The database also includes procedural videos, Practice Guidelines, Drug Monographs, Patient Education etc. The content is supplied by Elsevier, one of the world's leading provider of science and health information.

www.who.int/hinari

Hinari is a programme set up by WHO together with major publishers. It enables low- and middle- income countries gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature. AKU Library is registered to access Hinari and this gives you access to up to 16,000 journals, up to 63,000 e-books, up to 105 other information resources.

The database has been configured to recognize AKU/AKUH network but should you be prompted to log-in, please contact the library for the username and password details.

www.pubmed.gov

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Where the citation is from an open access journal, the database will provide a link to the full text.

www.cochranelibrary.com

Cochrane library well known for systematic reviews is a source of reliable and up-to-date information (regularly updated) on the effects of interventions in health care. This is currently available free of Charge to developing Countries.

 

 

Faculty liason librarian

Need Help - FHS Kenya?

   AKU – FHS Library, Kenya

   library.department@aku.edu

   20-366 2039 or Ext 2039